What I have learned about couponing, pt. 1

When I first started couponing, I wondered, “How practical can clipping coupons be?” I already knew that it didn’t make sense to buy something simply because you had a coupon for it. That’s what the ads want you to do. “Try it out, it’s ok, you have our coupon, so it’s cheaper!” Also, buying a newspaper and printing internet coupons seemed like an impractical (and possibly money-wasting) way to acquire a slip of paper that could save me a measly 40¢ the one time in two months that I’d buy peanut butter, for example. And that was only if I remembered to bring the coupon to the store and actually hand it over at checkout.

After reading much on the subject (see my blogroll for recommended reading!), I realized that it was possible to make couponing a worthwhile activity that actually saves money. The biggest thrill (as I’m sure many couponers will agree) was that you could get things for FREE! (and fairly often at that, especially from CVS!)

Recently, I sat down with a pen and paper and outlined exactly what it was that changed my mind about couponing. As I began following the recommendations and shopping scenarios posted by others, I learned several ways that couponing is actually simpler than you may think! Over the next few days, I will share these realizations with you, hopefully so that you can make couponing work for you.

3 Responses to “What I have learned about couponing, pt. 1”

  1. What I have learned about couponing, pt. 2 « Non¢ent$ Says:

    […] What I have learned about couponing, pt. 1 […]

  2. Briana Says:

    Once you get the hang of couponing, it will become like second nature!!! Plus, if you check out all the great blogs on the internet (looks like you have links to some of the biggies!!!), it will help you tremendously! Good luck and have fun!!! Don’t get discouraged if you make some mistakes along the way!


Leave a Reply

