More about textbooks

Having already made this semester’s rant about the price of textbooks, I’m going to spare you the figures and get right to the point.  I wasn’t sure how I was going to be able to pay for this semester’s books.  I need them sooner than I can afford them; my loan refund check doesn’t arrive until February.  Since I know I’ll need to read them before Valentine’s Day, I was going to borrow some money to pay for my textbooks, repaying using the refund check.  Then I realized something.  I was amazed at myself for forgetting my emergency fund!  I had enough money in that account to pay for my textbooks.

pigbank

The reason I didn’t think of using that money sooner was that I didn’t consider this financial need an emergency.  A need, yes, but not a real emergency, because I did have other options.  However, I realized it was ok to “borrow” the money from my emergency fund because I would be depositing the borrowed amount as soon as I get my refund check.  I know I’ll pay myself back, too.  I’m getting close to fully funding it, which is one of my goals for 2009.

2 Responses to “More about textbooks”

  1. futiledemocracy Says:

    My “work book” at university on my Photography course, cost £9!!!!!!!!! All that money for blank paper!!!! Ridiculous.

  2. Status report « Non¢ent$ Says:

    […] More about textbooks […]


Leave a Reply

